It’s Eid Time

Hey Ya’ll

Today (20/9/2009) is the day of festivity to Muslims living in some parts of the world which depends on the Moon sighting.

Eid-ul-Fitr is the day which marks the end of the holy month of Ramadan where Muslims around the world, observe fasting for 29 or 30 days depending upon the visibility of the moon in their respective areas. Eid, the Arabic word is means “festivity”, while Fitr means “to break fast”; thus, symbolizing the breaking of the fasting period.

The 2 great days celebrated in the Islamic calendar viz., Eid-ul-Fitr and Eid-ul-Adha (Festival of Sacrifice) brings back memoirs of my days I celebrated those with my family and friends. A day which begins with joy and happiness around the air through special feast arrangements, new clothes, gifts from our elders, smiles and greetings from strangers and most importantly a sense of accomplishment after observing the fasts for a month and submitting one’s will to the Almighty, the most Merciful and the most Beneficent.

Grand Mosque of Kilakrai
Grand Mosque of Kilakarai

During the Eid day, I wake up early as usual for the Dawn prayer, put on my new clothes and do a thing which I really miss now, I go to my mother to seek her supplications (Dua). She kisses me in the forehead with again prays for our good health, wisdom and wealth. In the mean time, show my dress to my father and seek his prayers and a hug which melts me and make me so proud. Then, I have a small breakfast (as a sign of not being in fast) with few date fruits and a cup of milk. After that, my siblings and I will assemble in our father’s maternal house where we meet and greet our grandparents, cousins, uncles and other close friends. That’s a moment of joy and happiness, where you experience caring, affection, love and prayers that melt away your hearts and minds. After that, we go to our nearest mosque to join in the prayers and congregation. After the prayers and a brief sermon, we gather around to meet and greet our friends, elders and well-wishers with the Arabic greeting Eid Mubarak (Blessed Eid), a short supplication by holding our hands and bear warm hugs for 3 times from right, then left and again at right sides of our shoulders. After the meet and greet, we join a in walk by reciting the Takbir (to extol the Almighty) towards one of our oldest mosque in our native, Kilakarai for the grand sermon. The sermons stresses about the need of the fast, its rewards and glad-tidings. Once the sermon is completed, the Eid is officially celebrated.

Then for the rest of day, we try go to all of our family member’s homes for meet and greet. It gives a great feeling to see our entire family and friends all in joy and thankful to our Creator. After this, we get back to our houses for our special feast and dishes shared between our family and friends. And, it’s Feast time and the day celebration comes to an end.

During the evening time, it’s our family practice that the entire Kaana Cheena family to assemble in our father’s maternal house. That’s the time, I miss very much. We see the joy and happiness in all of our eyes, supplication from elders, showing off our new dresses, collecting gifts and money and much more. It’s during these kinds of special occasions; we could see our entire family in one roof. And, it gives a feeling which will never be described by words.

After spending few hours in our grandparent’s, we all return to our homes and call it a blessed day of Eid with prayers for many more joyous and happy days to come.

Eid Mubarak.

🙂

7 responses to “It’s Eid Time

  1. Eid Mubarak.
    may Allah bless us with strong Imaan, ameen.

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed reading this.A good friend of mine has also been fasting and celebrates Eid today, so your words helped me understand the significance even more.
    He too is away from his family,and clearly misses them very much. He has many friends, but not the same as family.
    You are a great writer. Your words made me understand the warmth and strength of family.

    Thanks for sharing this.

    Pam

    Like

    • @Pam: haha, My regards to your friend. And, totally agree with you. 🙂
      BTW, Thanks very much for the compliment. Just warms my heart. LOL. 😀 🙂

      Like

  3. Pingback: A Call I Await & Calls I Made « Ridwan's Scribbles

  4. Your writing made me to cry & We miss you too.

    Sinavappa

    Like

Leave a Reply

